Violin, cello, piano

Duration: 7 minutes

April 1, 2000 by the Weilerstein Trio in Cleveland, OH

Available From:
Libby Larsen Publishing

Composer's Notes:
This piece is Paul Gerike's arrangement of Four on the Floor.
Original program note from Four on the Floor:
Four on the Floor is inspired by boogie-woogie. It is a celebration of American music and American musicians. The metronome indication for Four on the Floor is 138-144 to the quarter note, a speed verging on breakneck, and breakneck is the theme of the piece—an America that is speeding up faster and faster, jazzing into eternity.
After a short 3-bar introduction, the boogie beat is laid down by the piano. Its characteristic use of triplets and a “walking bass” in the left hand continues throughout the piece. A jazzy pizzicato phrase for the three string instruments leads into a slightly slower section which features dialogue between the strings (playing in rhythmic unison) and the piano. A re- statement of the earlier material is combined with a “ripping” riff. Breathless solos for each instrumentalist bring Four on the Floor to a boisterous conclusion. Four on the Floor was commissioned by the Minneapolis Artists Ensemble, and received its premiere in March, 1983.