I. Silence II. The Maenads Composed by Alejandro Sanchez-Samper III. Breathing IV. And Whirling Words V. Time Standing VI. Breathless VII. Weigh Me The Fire

Double SATB chorus, narrator, sampler, conch, didgeridoo, 3 marimbas, 3 pianos, full orchestra: 2 flutes, oboe, Bb clarinet, 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 3 C trumpets, 2 trombones, tuba, timpani, piano, strings, 2 percussion: [1 - tambourine, cowbell, temple blocks, Chinese cymbal], [2 - vibraphone, cabasa, suspended cymbal], [3 - hi-hat, tom-toms, tam-tam], full wind ensemble: piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 Bb clarinets, alto clarinet, bass clarinet, bassoon, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, 4 horns, 2 Bb trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, double bass, timpani, 3 percussion: [1 - snare drum, tom-toms, wood wind chimes, tam-tam (large), military drum], [2 - crash cymbals, suspended cymbal, bass drum, snare drum], [3 - tubular bells, orchestra bells]

Text: Paul Laurence Dunbar, Robert Herrick, Mark Jarman.

Duration: 40 min

Commissioned By:
Florida Atlantic University Department of Music

October 10, 2009 by the Florida Atlantic University Ensembles, Patricia Fleitas, Kyle Prescott and Laura Joella conductors, at Florida Atlantic University

Available From:
Libby Larsen Publishing

Composer's Notes:
Taken from the first line of Paul Dunbar’s poem, the title encompasses both infinity and cycle, and is, in fact, a bit of an oxymoron—like the concept of infinity itself. We humans, each one of us, are finite narratives suspended in infinite being. Often awkward in ourselves, we pass through infinite human consciousness, contributing our energy to our belief in continuance. We bring ourselves, our cultures, our languages, our music, our spiritual beliefs, everything that we are to this moment of living—this moment suspended in eternal, infinite time.

— Libby Larsen