I. Grace & Glory (Phillis Wheatley to George Washington) II. Jenny Lind to Harriet Beecher Stowe III. Blinking Pluto (Clyde William Tombaugh) IV. Myself with Wings (Charles A. Lindbergh) V. United Hot Clubs of America (Louis Armstrong)

SATB chorus, soprano solo (from chorus), brass quintet, piano, percussion (suspended cymbal, snare drum, orchestra bells, bass drum, tam-tam (ready), vibraphone, tam-tam (large), ride cymbal, triangle)

Text: 20th c. biographical texts

Duration: 23 minutes

Commissioned By:
The Plymouth Music Series of Minnesota, Musica Sacra New York, and the Los Angeles Master Chorale with funds from the Lila Wallace Readers Digest Consortium Commissioning Program

February 10, 1995 by the Plymouth Music Series, Philip Brunelle, conductor, at the Ordway Music Theater, St. Paul, MN

Available From:
Oxford University Press, distributed by C.F. Peters and Goodmusic Publishing

Score Errata:
I. m. 65, bass voice: 2nd 18th note of beat 2 should be A
III. m. 19, soprano voice: both Gs should be G#