Orchestra: flute/piccolo, oboe, Bb clarinet/bass clarinet, bassoon/contrabassoon, horn, trumpet, keyboard (piano, DX7), [2 percussion: tom-toms, temple blocks, orchestra bells, vibraphone, marimba, sand blocks, suspended cymbal, bass drum, tam-tam (large), timpani (30', 28', 25', 23')], strings, slides (optional)

Duration: 11 minutes

Commissioned By:
The Cleveland Chamber Symphony, Edwin London conductor

November, 1987 by the Cleveland Chamber Symphony

Available From:
ECS Publishing (rental)

Composer's Notes:
What the Monster Saw is an orchestral fantasy based on part two of Mary Shelley's novel Frankenstein, or the Modern Prometheus. In this section of the book, the monster confronts Frankenstein. The monster relays his experiences in the world since the day of its creation. Rejected and spurned by Frankenstein, the monster, an innocent, is cast loose and forced to survive alone. Seized by a multiplicity of sensations, it first perceives the world in chaos and fear. Then it learns to distinguish and supply its basic needs (food, clothing, shelter). Finally it conceals itself in the dark corner of a forest cottage. There, by observing some cottages, it learns to speak, to read, to love. When, in search of companionship, the monster at last approaches people, they repel, even attack him. Tragically, he realizes that he is condemned to a lonely, alienated existence. The initial confusion senses in the monster transform into one single purpose -revenge.

To order this piece, please visit ECS Publishing.

Additional Information:
Adaptation from the opera Frankenstein.

Score Errata:
m. 13; trumpet; use cup mute
m. 43, 281; keyboard; left hand on beat 3 should have a G-nat and A-nat
m. 95; flute, piccolo; picc part should be for the flute
m. 328; piano, oboe, clarinet; last note should be a concert A

ROM 4B-29: A sustained sound with a wide vibrato, sounds like that grand organ with a hint of an electronic hum.

Filter By