Performed By: the London Symphony Orchestra, Joel Revzen, conductor

Full orchestra: 2 flutes (2nd doubles piccolo), 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, 3 percussion: [1 - suspended cymbal, tambourine, slapstick, marimba, crash cymbals], [2 - finger cymbals, xylophone, crash cymbals], [3 - bass drum, tom-toms, orchestra bells, crash cymbals], timpani, piano, strings

Duration: 5 minutes 30 seconds

Commissioned By:
The American Composers Orchestra

American Composers Orchestra, Thomas Nee, conductor

Available From:
ECS Publishing (rental)

Composer's Notes:
During the Renaissance, there was a spectacular court dance involving parapluie, or umbrellas, the forerunner of the parachute. Dancers would climb atop courtyard walls carrying enormous brightly colored silk umbrellas. They would begin dancing short, hopping steps which become raucous leaps along their precarious ledge until suddenly, they would hurtle themselves off the wall, umbrellas overhead, and float down into the midst of the spectators.
To purchase the score or rent this piece, please visit ECS Publishing.

Score Errata:
Clarinet 2 (part) page 2: m. 77 the low E-flat should be an E-natural

Filter By