Performed By: the Colorado Symphony Orchestra, Marin Alsop, conductor

Full orchestra: 2 flutes (2nd doubles piccolo), 2 oboes, Bb clarinet, 2 bassoons, 4 horns, Bb trumpet, 3 trombones, timpani, 2 percussion: [1 - vibraphone, orchestra bells], [2 - marimba, triangle, chimes], strings

Duration: 8 minutes

1982 by the Minnesota Orchestra, Joseph Giunta, conductor

Available From:
ECS Publishing (rental)

Composer's Notes:
Panorama and horizon are part of the natural culture of the plain states. On the plains, one cannot help but be effected by the sweep of the horizon and depth of color as the eye adjusts from the nearest to the farthest view. The glory of this phenomenon is particularly evident at harvest time, in the deep summer, when acres of ripened wheat, sunflowers, corn, rye, and oats blaze with color. In the deep summer, winds create wave after wave of harvest ripeness which, when beheld by the human eye, creates a kind of emotional peace and awe: a feeling of abundance combined with the knowledge that his abundance is only as bountiful as nature will allow.

To rent this piece, please visit ECS Publishing.

Score Errata:
measures 33-34, Flute and Clarinet: there should be ties over the barline
measure 36, Violin II: second eighth note of third beat should be A-flat
measure 37, Violin II: beat three should be B-flat
measure 79, Horn II: the second note of the triplet should be an E
measure 101, Clarinet: entire measure should be F-sharp, C-sharp, G-sharp, and F
measure 102, Violoncello: second eighth note of fourth beat should be F-sharp
measure 103, Violoncello: beat four should be F-sharp

Filter By